The "Ballon d'Or," or "Golden Ball," is an annual football award given to the player considered the best in the world. The best player is selected through a voting process, with the jury composed of journalists regarded as specialists, as well as national team coaches and captains from 209 FIFA national associations. The players awarded this trophy the most times are Lionel Messi (7 trophies), Cristiano Ronaldo (5 trophies), and Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff, and Marco van Basten, each with 3 trophies.